The photo report of the Inter-district School Competition for the students of Warsaw primary and secondary schools entitled w "Me, the soldier of the Uprising" - 2016.

          In April 2016 the 1944 Warsaw Uprising Remembrance Association announced the new type of competition devoted to the Warsaw Uprising 1944 entitled "Me, the soldier of the Uprising".
          The aim of the competition was to popularze the heroic behaviour of the soldiers of the Uprising, encouraging to read the insurgent memories placed in both the "Notebooks of the Remembrance of the Warsaw Uprising" and the SPPW website, to use the archives of the Warsaw Uprising Museum and to participate in the meetings "The Witnesses of the History" in the Warsaw Uprising Museum.
          Concurrently, the competition was to promote the high culture of a spoken word, to develop oratorical talents of a Young generation and to teach the rivalry in a friendly atmosphere.
          The competition was addressed to the pupils of Warsaw schools, divided into two age groups:
          - 6th class of primary schools,
          - secondary schools.

          Each contestant had to prepare a short monodrama related to a chosen person: a soldier of one of insurgent unit, an orderly, a liaison, a young scout-soldier of the Grey Regiments, or a young scout-boy delivering the insurgent post mail. Participants were supposed to choose a role of a certain person and play a role of them (the scenario based on Real memories). The presentation was to last not more than 5-10 minutes.
          The rules of the competition were prepared by Mrs. Maria Poprawa, the member of the SPPW 1944 management, the Polish philologist and historian of the 118 Primary School in Warsaw named after the Friends of Mazovia.
          The deadline was May 5th, 2016.
          All in all, 31 participants from two primary and four secondary schools registered.

          The students, the competition participats, chose to play the roles of:

          1. Barbara Bobrownicka-Frycze a.k.a. "Ba¶ka-Wilja", the Home Army group "Róg"
          2. Joanna Chmielińska
          3. Pola Cudna- Kowalska a.k.a. "Amelka", the Home Army group "Obroża"
          4. Tymoteusz Duchowski a.k.a. "Młotek"
          5. Barbara Gancarczyk- Piotrowska a.k.a. "Paj±k", the Home Army battalion "Wigry"
          6. Wiesław Gniazdowski a.k.a. ps. "Wiesiek", the Home Army group "Krybar"
          7. Janina Gruszczyńska - Jasiak a.k.a. "Janka", the Home Army battalion "Wigry"
          8. Halina Hołownia a.k.a. ps. "Rena"
          9. Halina Jędrzejewska- Dudzik a.k.a. "Sławka", the Home Army battalion "Miotła"
          10. Teresa Kodelska- Łaszek a.k.a. "Kinga"
          11. Jolanta Kolczyńska a.k.a. ps. "Klara", the Home Army group "Chrobry II"
          12. Maria Krasowska a.k.a. "Majka"
          13. Hipolit KuĽwa, the Home Army battalion "Kiliński"
          14. Jadwiga Nawrocka, the Home Army group "Chrobry II"
          15. Witold Pilecki a.k.a. ps. "Witold", the Home Army group "Chrobry II"
          16. Eugeniusz Rychlewski a.k.a. "Chyży", the Home Army group "Chrobry II"
          17. Juliusz Szawdyn, Konrad Niewiadomski a.k.a. "Konrad", the Home Army group "Konrad"
          18. Józef Andrzej Szczepański a.k.a. "Ziutek", the Home Army battalion "Parasol"
          19. Jadwiga Szulecka-Wasiluk a.k.a. "Jaga", battalion "Sokół"
          20. Zbigniew ¦cibor - Rylski a.k.a. "Motyl", the Home Army battalion "Czata 49"
          21. Hochman Zalman a.k.a. "Miki", battalion "Sokół"

          On May 18, 2016 in the exhibition room in the 22 Długa street in Warsaw the examination of the contestants occurred.

          The Jury of the competition:
          Mr. Maciej Janaszek - Seydlitz - the president of the Jury, the honorary chairman of SPPW 1944,
          Mr. Zbigniew Galperyn - the Warsaw insurgent, vice-chairman of the Warsaw Insurgents' Association
          Mrs. Cecylia Steczkowska - the artist who is active in the sphere of commemorating the heroism of the Insurgents.

          While evaluating, the Jury considered the following:
          - presenting of a chosen person - composition and oratorical talent,
          - esthetics and uniqueness of garment and presenting it,
          - general artistic impression - choise of stage props and music, etc.

          After the long discussion the Jury decided to award the following contestants:

          The students of primary schools:
          1st place
          Zofia Wierzbicka, SP 41
          2nd place
          Antonina Rychlewska, SP 41
          Jagoda Szrajber, SP 118
          3rd place
          Julia Ruszczyk, SP 118
          Paulina Ziętek, SP 118
          honourable awards
          Natalia Sawczuk, SP 118
          Blanka Skwarczek, SP 41

          The students of primarysecondary schools:
          1st place
          Julia Wołoch, G 123
          2nd place
          Wiktoria Niziołek, G 123
          Weronika Pawlak, G 40
          3rd place
          Zuzanna Bykowska, G 121
          Zofia Michalska, G 123
          Aleksandra Szydłowska, G 121
          Weronika Tryc, G 121
          honourable awards
          Zofia Kubicka, G 40
          Inga Lewandowska, G 123

          The number of equal level of the competition can be proved by the number of equal 2nd and 3rd place among the laureates.

          On June 15, 2016 in the exhibition room in the 22 Długa street in Warsaw the awards and honourable awards: books and commemorative diplomas were handed over to the laureates by: Mr. Maciej Białecki, the SPPW 1944 chairman, Mr. Maciej Janaszek-Seydlitz, the president of the Jury, and Mrs. Cecylia Steczkowska, the member of the Jury.

          The teachers of the laureates also received book awards.

          Everybody was given the "Notebooks" issues 5 and 6, as well.

          The television team of TVP 3 appeared at the ceremony. Journalists made an interview with the competition author Mrs. Maria Poprawa and with few laureates.

          The competition undoubtedly raised the state of knowledge about the Warsaw Uprising 1944 among the Warsaw youth. Its participants proved an interesting and mature way of presenting the chosen heroes.

from the left side: Mrs. Cecylia Steczkowska, Mr. Maciej Janaszek-Seydlitz and Mrs. Maria Poprawa

second from the left: Mr. Maciej Białecki

compiled by: Maciej Janaszek-Seydlitz

translation: Monika Ałasa

Copyright © 2018 SPPW 1944. All rights reservede.